Malayalam Foundation Awards 2013 Announced

P.K Ravindranath, Former Supreme Court judge  V.R. Krishna Iyer, V.G. Nair have been nominated for Malayalaratnam; M.T., Madhu, Adoor, Sreekumaran Thampi, Nedumudi, Madanbu are among 11 Chalachitraratnam awardees while Kaviyoor Ponnamma, KPAC Lalitha, Sajitha Madathil, Nandakishor, T.R. Omana are among Chalachitrasaparya awardees 

Thiruvananthapuram:  Malayalam Foundation, a public trust engaged in charitable work in Maharashtra and Kerala and which promotes Malayalam language, literature, art, education and cinema has announced 2013 awards in different categories. The chairperson of the awards committee, Prof. Parampil Jayakumar stated that this year, in addition to the annual awards, there would be 18 special awards in connection with the Platinum Jubilee Celebrations of Malayalam Cinema by Malayalam Foundation, which is scheduled to be held on the 8th of December, 2013 at Mumbai.

Late Prof. P.K Ravindranath, who had excelled in several fields such as journalism, literary translation, research, literature and, teaching was nominated for the very first highest award of Malayalaratnam. Former Supreme Court judge V.R. Krishna Iyer and businessperson V.G. Nair were the others selected for the same honour.  The former Supreme Court judge, popularly known as Justice V.R Krishna Iyer, who through his judgements, writings speeches and interviews has rendered immense service in the field of justice and fight for human rights.  He is the originator of land reforms act in Kerala,  author of  105 plus books and one of the oldest judges in India. The highest award instituted by Malayalam Foundation is a fitting tribute to him on his 97th birthday, said Girijavallabhan, a member of the award selection committee.

The spectacular story of V.G Nair’s life that rose from a hotel employee, by dint of hard work, honesty and sheer will power, to head a business conglomerate should serve as an inspiration to all.

Sasidharan Nair, Chairman of Malayalam Foundation pointed out that the very idea of instituting such awards and honouring such personalities was to show the way to others.

Out of six other awards in different categories, four went for lifetime achievement and two went for outstanding contributions.  The lifetime achievement awardees include veteran writer  Balakrishnan in literature,  veteran Carnatic vocalist Isaimani Thrissur R. Vaidyanatha Bhagavathar for Carnatic music, Leela Sarkar for literary translation, literary activities and Bengali – Malayalam dictionary making, and  K.N. Anandakumar, founder and executive director of  Saigramam, Thiruvananthapuram, for his  wonderful efforts in establishing and running the charitable organization Saigramam and outstanding contribution in social service.

The awards for outstanding contribution were marked to Nilekalathu Ravindran Nair for media activism through small publication and youngest achiever Sreelakshmi Suresh for youngest web designer girl in the world was selected. Nilakalethu Ravindran Nair through his Pramadam, a monthly Malayalam magazine from Bhilai edited, owned and published by Nilakaleth Ravidran Nair without a break for the last 16 years.  He is author of four books. Sreelakshmi designed more than 100 websites and she is the only member of the Association of American Webmasters, ever, under the age of 18.

The highest award Malayalaratnam consists of a gold medal and a plaque.  A cash award and a trophy will be presented to those chosen for lifetime achievement and remarkable contribution award.

The award winners were selected by a committee consists of Prof. Parampil Jayakumar as Chairman and Girijavallabhan, N. Rajasekharan Nair and Malayalabhumi Sasidharan Nair as members.

For the Chalachitraratnam award, 11 names were selected from those who had rendered laudable service to Malayalam cinema, which has completed 75 years. The award winners are music director K. Raghavan Master, posthumously, 97-year old veteran T.E. Vasudevan, M.T. Vasudevan Nair, Madhu, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Sreekumaran Thampi, Nedumudi Venu, Madambu Kunjukuttan, GoodKnight Mohan, P.K. Nair and Vidyadharan Master.

The Chalachitrasaparya award winners are Kaviyoor Ponnamma, KPAC Lalitha, Valsala Menon, Sajitha Madathil, T.R. Omana, Nandakishor and Captain Raju. The award selection committee was headed by Prof Parampil Jayakumar and its members were Subhash Menon, Girijavallabhan, and Malayalabhumi Sasidharan Nair.

Chalachitraratnam award consists of a gold medal and plaque.  Chalachitrasaparya award is also of  gold medal, but a smaller size.  It is  notable that this is for the first time an NGO  has declared maximum number of  awards for  the people who have made their mark in different fields. All cinema awards will be given away on the 8th December 2013, at the function celebrating the platinum jubilee of Malayalam Cinema.  The Foundation’s annual awards will be distributed at a function in Thiruvanathapuram in February, 2014.

Comments are closed.